
 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
See if you can identify the issues and make the correct rulings in the following scenarios which incorporate song 
and album titles (in italics) from The Beatles:  

 
1.   It’s John Lennon’s Birthday, so the Beatles take a break from studio recording to 

enjoy a round of stroke play golf on a perfectly calm day.  In the parking lot, they all 
greet one another “Good Morning, Good Morning.”  For some reason, everyone 

has a caddie except for George Harrison.  He does not want to carry his bag, and 
contends that one of the other caddies may carry his bag.  The other three Beatles 
insist, “You’ve got to Carry That Weight.” 

 
2. On the first hole, with a lake extending down the side of the hole, Ringo’s ball comes to rest in the water 

hazard, but the ball is not quite in the water so it can be played as it lies.  Suddenly, a Yellow Submarine 
surfaces nearby, producing waves which wash over Ringo’s ball and cause it to roll into the water.  Ringo calls 
“Help” Because he needs a ruling.  John tells him to “Let It Be” i.e., to play it as it lies. Ringo replies, “I’ll Cry 

Instead.” 
 
3. Later in the round, Paul McCartney hooks his drive out of bounds, and shouts, “Get Back.”  The ball bounces 

down The Long and Winding Road and then, unbeknownst to McCartney, it hits a Blackbird which causes the 

ball to end up in bounds.  Paul tees up another ball, thinking his ball could be Here, There, and Everywhere, 
and makes a swing, but misses the ball, exclaiming, “I’m a Loser.”  Lady Madonna walking along Abbey Road 
informs Paul that his original ball is in bounds, so he abandons the ball on the tee exclaiming “I Feel Fine.” 

 
4. At the 5th hole, George’s drive goes Helter Skelter and he remarks, “All I’ve Got to Do is find it within Any Time 

at All.”  After five minutes and what seems to be A Hard Day’s Night, he finds the ball in the rough.  George 

plays out the hole with this ball and then plays from the next teeing ground.   
 
5. During play of the 11th hole, John’s ball ends up in a ravine.  He says,” I’ve Got a Feeling I can play this ball 

With a Little Help from My Friends if you Hold Me Tight and we work All Together Now.”  As he prepares to 
swing, he asks George, “You Really Got a Hold on Me?”  In executing the shot, John tries to Act Naturally, but 
his ball disappears down the ravine.  They all exclaim, “It’s Nowhere Man.”  He replies, “I’m So Tired” and “I 
Should Have Known Better.” 

 
Answers:  

 
1. The issue is whether a single caddie can be shared by two or more players.  Rule 6-4 [Caddie] mandates that 

a player may be assisted by a caddie, but the player is limited to only one caddie at any one time.  However, 
the converse is not true as caddies may, in effect, serve two masters at the same time.  See Decisions 6-4/6, 

8-1/12, 19-2/8, 30/1 and 30/2 which confirm the use of shared or double caddies. 
 

2. The issue is whether an outside agency caused Ringo’s ball to move.  By definition, neither wind nor water is 

an outside agency.  However, in this situation, the waves were generated by the submarine and there is a 
direct correlation between the submarine, the waves and the movement of the ball.  Therefore, it is reasonable 

to conclude that the ball was moved by the submarine which is an outside agency.  Under Rule 18-1 [Ball at 
Rest Moved By Outside Agency], there is no penalty and Ringo must replace his ball on the bank.  See 

Decision 14-6/1 [Ball Moves in Water in Water Hazard After Address] which discusses the causal connection 
between an agency causing waves and the movement of the ball. 



 

 

3. Since the original ball ended up in bounds, it is in bounds.  When Paul played another ball from the teeing 
ground without announcing that he was playing a provisional ball, that ball became the ball in play under 

penalty of stroke and distance (see Rule 27-1a), and the original ball was, by definition, deemed to be lost.  In 
going forward to resume play with the original ball, Paul is penalized for playing a wrong ball.  If he does not 

correct this mistake before playing from the next teeing ground, he would be disqualified. 
 

4. Because George was unable to find his ball within five minutes, the ball is deemed to be lost.  He should have 
abandoned the original ball and returned to the teeing ground under penalty of stroke and distance pursuant to 

Rule 27-1 [Stroke and Distance; Ball Out of Bounds; Ball Not Found Within Five Minutes].  In continuing play 
with the original ball, George is penalized for playing a wrong ball and he must correct his mistake similar to 

Paul. 
  

5. Rule 14-2 [Assistance] advises that a player must not accept physical assistance in making a stroke.  Thus, 

John is penalized two strokes for allowing George to hold and prevent him from falling down the ravine while 
playing the stroke.  With the original ball either lost or in an irretrievable position, John is in a predicament 

because he must proceed under the stroke and distance penalty of Rule 27-1 for a lost ball or Rule 28a for an 
unplayable ball, requiring him to drop a ball as near as possible at the spot from which he last played in the 

ravine. 
 


